Notable Races

Races are organized by decade

The 1930s

1934: Santa Anita's First Race1935 Santa Anita Handicap1937: Del Mar's First Race1938: Hollywood Park's First Race1938 Hollywood Gold Cup1938: Seabiscuit vs. Ligaroti
1938: Seabiscuit vs. War Admiral1939 Santa Anita Derby

The 1940s

1940 Santa Anita Handicap1940 Santa Anita Derby1948: Citation's First Race in California1948 Tanforan Handicap

The 1950s

1950 Hollywood Gold Cup1954 San Juan Capistrano1955 Kentucky Derby1955: Swaps vs. Nashua1958 Del Mar Futurity

The 1960s

1961 Santa Anita Derby1963 Preakness Stakes1966 San Juan Capistrano1967: Hollywood Park's First Triple Dead Heat1967 Del Mar Handicap

The 1970s

1970 San Juan Capistrano1972: Convenience vs. Typecast1972 Hollywood Gold Cup1975 Belmont Stakes1975 Whitney Handicap1977 Swaps Stakes

The 1980s

1981 Arlington Million1981 Hollywood Futurity1982 Hollywood Lassie1984 Kentucky Derby1984 Breeders' Cup at Hollywood Park1986 Breeders' Cup at Santa Anita1986 Santa Anita Handicap
1986 Kentucky Derby1986 Preakness Stakes1987 Breeders' Cup Classic1989 Santa Anita Derby

The 1990s

1990: The Legend's Last Ride1991: Griswold vs. Valiant Pete1991 Hollywood Gold Cup1991 Pacific Classic1995 Hollywood Gold Cup1996 Pacific Classic1998 Dubai World Cup

The 2000s

2006 Breeders' Cup Sprint2008 Living Legends Race at Santa Anita2009 Breeders' Cup Turf Sprint2009 Breeders' Cup Sprint2009 Breeders' Cup Classic

The 2010s

2010 Lady's Secret Stakes2011 Breeders' Cup Sprint2012 Preakness Stakes2013 Swaps Stakes2013: Hollywood Park's Last Nighttime Card2013 Hollywood Gold Cup
2013:Closing Day for Hollywood Park's Spring/Summer Meet2013 Sunset Handicap2013 King Glorious Stakes2013: Hollywood Park's Finale2014 Strub Stakes2014 Santa Anita Handicap
2014 Kentucky Derby2014 Preakness Stakes2014: Opening Day of Del Mar's First Bing Crosby Season2014 Hollywood Derby2015 San Antonio Invitational2015 Pacific Classic
2016 Winter Challenge at Los Alamitos2017 Breeders' Cup at Del Mar

The 2020s

2014 Gold Cup at Santa Anita2020 Sham Stakes2023 Santa Anita Derby