Notable Achievements

Notable achievements are organized by decade

The 1920s

1922: The First Cal-bred Kentucky Derby Champion

The 1930s

1938: Stagehand's Santa Anita Sweep1939: The First Big 'Cap/Gold Cup Double

The 1940s

1940: The Marathon Horse1941: Mioland's Showcase

The 1950s

1950: Six Races, Two Triple Crown Champions, and One Fantastic Noor1950: Third Decade, Third Big 'Cap1950-1967: Shoemaker's Sweet Seventeen
1951: Citation-The First Millionaire1952: Hill Gail's Derby Double1956: Swaps's Greatest Stretch1957: Youth is Found in the Hollywood Gold Cup1957-1958: Round Table's Santa Anita Season
1958: Silky Sullivan's Greatest Rally1959: Silver Spoon's Golden Sweep

The 1960s

1961: A Second Sunset in Three YearsHollywood Park, 1962-1967: Native Diver's Dozen1963: Candy Spots Goes Coast To Coast
1963-1965: Native Diver's Other Threepeat1965-1967: Native Diver's Three Hollywood Gold Cup Wins1967: Pretense is Santa Anita's Top Handicapper1969: Johnny Longden's Derby Double

The 1970s

1970: Bill Shoemaker's Crowning Achievement1971: Ack Ack's Greatest Season1978: Affirmed's Triple Crown1979: A Double for a Triple Crown Winner

The 1980s

1980: A Spectacular Strub Series1980-1982: John Henry's Three at Oak Tree1982: John Henry Becomes a Big 'Cap Legend1983: Althea's Del Mar Double1984: Santa Anita-An Olympic Venue
1984: Age is But a Number1985: Bill Shoemaker-Grand Champion of the Big 'Cap1987: Laffit's Lucky Seven1988: A Winning (Colors) Triple1988: A Winning (Colors) Derby

The 1990s

1991-1993: Best Pal's Triple1991-1993: Flawlessly is the True Matriarch1992-1995: Frankel's Four Pacific Classics1993: Bill Shoemaker-The Monarch of the Malibu Stakes1994-1996: The Del Mar (Dennis) and San Bernardino (Handicap) Connection1999: Laffit Pincay Jr.'s Crowning Achievement

The 2000s

2000-2001: Tiznow's Two Classics2002: Laffit Pincay, Jr. is the Gold (Cup) Standard2003: Gary Stevens-The Santa Anita Derby's Money Rider2003: Richard Mandella's Greatest Day
2003-2005: The Jeff Mullins Trio2005-2007: Lava Man Equals the Diver2008-2009: Zenyatta's Classic Double

The 2010s

2010: One Race Equals Two Records for Zenyatta2010: Zenyatta's Triple-Triple2010: Twirling Candy Breaks a Barrier2010-2014: Jeranimo's Jackpot2011: Unusual Heat's Superfecta
2011: The Master of the Morvich Handicap2011-2013: The Queen of the Solana Beach Handicap2012-2013: Slim Shadey and the San Marcos2012: Mike Smith-Best in the Breeders' Cup2013: Mizdirection's Moment2014: Rafael Bejarano and the Six San Gabriels2015: American Pharoah's Triple Crown2016: California Chrome Tops the California-bred Earnings List2018: Justify's Triple Crown2019: Big Money Mike is Top-Grade (I)

The 2020s

2020: The Sadler-Hronis Big 'Cap Triple2020: The Filly, the Oaks and the Preakness2022: D'Amato's Dominance2022: Taiba's Unprecdented Double